Remembering

by Linus

Today crept up on me quick this year.  I don’t know if that is a good thing or not.  I was walking through Penn this morning and I happened to glance up to see that it was 7.51am.  That time isn’t really significant, except for the fact that is when it really hit me what today is.  I thought about how 11 years ago somebody, who probably isn’t here today, walked those same steps that I walked.  I thought about how that person probably kissed their son goodbye, got on the train, and headed to work with no idea what was in store for them.  I thought about how 11 years ago at that time, the world was a completely different place.  I thought about how 11 years ago it was a beautiful, cloudless autumn morning…much as it is today.  But most importantly, I thought about how in a few hours, that person who walked those steps before me 11 years ago…would no longer be here.

It obviously puts life in perspective, we need little moments like that to help keep us grounded, but it helps remind me that I live in the greatest city in the world.  New Yorkers are a special breed of people, and while this is a scar that most of us will have for our whole lives, that scar is healing.  It is important to move on with life, but it is also important to remember the past.  After all, those who do not study history, are condemned to repeat it.

