NBC’s Olympic Coverage

by Linus

Please allow me to join in on the NBC Olympic bashing, partly because they suck, and partly because I am an idiot. Because I work during the day (or as I like to refer to it, contributing to Social Security so old people can live comfortable now and use up all the money before I can get back what I contributed), I have not been able to see as much of the Olympics as I would have liked…although last night I did get to see some indoor 2-man bike racing! I go to bed at a reasonable time, around 10.30pm, but that isn’t good enough to be able to see some of the events I would like to because NBC insists on showing events later in the evening so people on the West coast can enjoy them.

Segue – I have a huge issue with the East coast/West coast bias, whichever it is, because most major sporting events (World Series games, NCAA Basketball Championship, etc.) start at around 9.30pm on the East coast thus allowing us to not see the end of them…unless you want to stay up until 12.30am. I have always been of the mindset that the games should start at around 8-8.30pm on the East, 5-5.30pm in the West, which would mean that the people in the East would then get to see the whole game…maybe they would have to stay up until 11.00pm or 11.30pm at the latest. It would unfortunately mean that the West would miss the beginning…but they would get to see the end…which is usually the best and most important part anyway. The whole point of this mini rant is that if someone is going to get screwed and miss part of the game, it should be the West so they miss the beginning, not the East so we miss the end…geez networks, get your head in the game.

Back to NBC sucking. The other night NBC aired one of the signature events of the games, the men’s 100 meter dash, at around 11.30pm…11.30pm! Why was this race not shown earlier in the evening? The entire race lasts 10 seconds, you’re telling me there was no way for them to squeeze that in between 8.42pm and 8.43pm? Why not eliminate one of your self-promoting commercials for some show that I am not going to watch once the Olympics are done so we can see more of the games? Speaking of more of the games, last night during the Track & Field portion, NBC would show the race, then instead of going to a different venue or staying at the Track to show a different event, we are forced to sit through yet another excruciating post-race interview where some nimrod from NBC peppers the runners with those incredibly rhetorical questions.
Here is a perfect example:
NBC Reporter: Great race, tell me what was going through your head at the start, it looks like you got off the blocks quick?
Runner (what she said): Well, I was really focused with getting a good start, my coach and I have been working on our starts quite a bit during the year.
Runner (what she should have said): Thanks, I didn’t fall down, so obviously it was a good race.
NBC Reporter: Midway through the race, we saw your opponent from Jamaica start to creep up on your inside, what did you do to hold her off?
Runner (what she said): Yeah I saw her come up, my coach and I really put a lot of time in during the year on making sure I keep my focus, I reached down deep and found the strength to hold her off.  But I give her credit, she is a great runner and she ran a great race.
Runner (what she should have said): I simply ran faster when I saw her.
NBC Reporter: You coasted across the finish line to win your heat, what are you going to do to prepare for tomorrow’s final to ensure you are strong enough?
Runner (what she said): Yeah, I just want to thank God for giving me this opportunity, I am very blessed to be here, hopefully God will bless me tomorrow night.
Runner (what she should have said): These other runners had no business running tonight, they should have given me a bye right into the final.  Tonight, I am going to eat a nice meal (on the British taxpayers), then I am going to get a good night sleep, then tomorrow I am going got come out and run as fast as I can…that is all I should have to do to win.  Praise Jesus.
NBC Reporter: Thanks for your time, good luck tomorrow.
Runner (what she said): Thanks
Runner (what she should have said): Have you not listened to anything I’ve said, luck has nothing to do with it…idiot.

Mean while while this whole idiotic exchange is happening, I can literally see events going on in the background.  Why can’t NBC show those other events?  Then after that idiotic exchange is over, does NBC do the right thing and show us more events, no…they force us to sit through one of those equally painful “Olympic profiles.”  Listen, if I want to know anything extra about any of the athletes, I will Google them.  I don’t need NBC to tell me about the past struggles of this runner, how she blew it 8 years ago in the Olympics by coasting across the line and losing her heat, and how she decided to have kids, but then suffered from depression and couldn’t run, but now she has turned things around and is running to create a legacy…hold on.  Sorry, I just threw up again because I had to re-live that story!  NBC has 1 job, and that is to show me as many Olympic events as they can squeeze in between promoting their own shows and showing us somehow more gymnastics…possibly a replay of the magnificent 9…or whatever it is.  Somehow I think even Kerri Strug is sick of seeing herself carried off the mat by that old guy who can’t seem to find the courage to retire.  Speaking of gymnastics, how funny was it that the commentators spent 36 minutes hyping up the USA vaulter, how great she was, how this was her event, how she was forging history, only to watch her fall on her butt?  Tough break kid…let’s kick a little love over to that girl from Romania for not choking.  Biggest stage in the world…some have it, some don’t.

I referenced earlier how I am an idiot, the reason is that during the day I continue to open the CNN Breaking News emails that are sent to me…even though I know they are going to tell me the results of the Olympics…for some reason I keep opening them!  Partly because they do pepper in actual news…but I can’t stop…it might be an addiction…I am seeking treatment.  So I actually knew that Michael Phelps would win 20 something medals last month, before he even got to London…I had to walk around all that time knowing the results ahead of time.  To sum it up, NBC needs a 6 hour delay for something that is 3500 miles away, but NASA only has a 14 minute delay for an event that is 155,000,000 miles away…you do the math.

 

