The Facebook Backlash

by Linus

There will come a time when Facebook will no longer be en vogue, it is inevitable. Everywhere you look on the internet, that’s all you see…Facebook, Facebook, Facebook. There are now certain websites and certain events on the web that you can only access through Facebook. People don’t even send party invites through the mail; you have to be a member of this Facebook club in order to snag certain invites.
Virtually every single person you know is on the site; even my Grandma has a profile. I do not have a profile and I do not intend to get one. I would rather give up the internet completely than join Facebook. I don’t want everybody I know to know everything about me, I know that makes me the minority, and I’m fine with that. I’ve spent most of my life being a contrarian and I sleep like a baby every night. I heard an expression a while ago that seems attributable here – ‘the moment something starts being cool, it stops being cool’. For all of you that have profiles, do you really think you have 472 friends, or whatever your ‘number’ is? It is more of an acquaintance tally as opposed to a friend total. Do you think it makes you look cooler to have more acquaintances? It doesn’t. It actually makes you look more like a tool, like someone who is simply trying to acquire things. How can someone really devote enough time to all those “friends”? You’re left with a situation where people are spread too thin, sort of a jack-of-all-trades, master of none scenario.
There is going to be a point in time when people are going to revolt. It’s not going to be a violent revolt, it will be quiet, like a slow moving glacier that has suddenly move miles. I won’t pretend to know when it is going to happen, but it will happen. It will happen for the same reasons that I am not a member, privacy. To put it simply, I don’t trust Facebook. I don’t think they are doing anything wrong now, but they are still a young company and as it grows, the values and morals that were present when it was founded will slowly be passed to the wayside. I like Mark Zuckerberg, I respect a lot about him, but he won’t be around forever and the people who follow in his footsteps will more likely be in it for a profit. When money becomes the driving force, people lose sight of what’s really important.
The internet is a juggernaut and there are too many people out there who are of less than questionable values, people that I do not want to share any information about my life with. Trusting one entity, be it Facebook or any other entity with too much information is simply not smart. It is putting all your eggs in one basket. It’s going to happen, you’ll find yourself sitting around one day saying to yourself, “I can’t believe Facebook is doing that.” The moment that happens, you’ll decide enough is enough…it’s inevitable.

